The message will state: CHECKED OUT.
Why you see the warning message: CHECKED OUT
The warning message "checked out" means that another user:
- did not correctly close the Article or other item that they were editing, or
- they are still editing the item you want to edit.
When an item is 'checked out' then no-one else may edit it until Global Check-in is performed.
You can check-in the Articles (and any other checked-out items) when you select Global Check-in from the System Panel in the Home Dashboard.
How to Check-in Items